HomeКомпьютерные игрыRelated VideosMore From: 3kliksphilip

Making of de_sparity - Part 11: CEVO Review

6748 ratings | 410885 views
Play the map here: 31.186.251.103:27013 The penultimate part of this series and the longest video EVAARRRRR. I go through the judging process that c0tton and his mysterious sidekick went through to review de_sparity. 0:00 - Intro 0:30 - Begin of review 1:10 - Timing the map 3:26 - Props and textures 4:34 - Mismatch of themes 5:39 - Radar 6:05 - Visibility 7:05 - Realism 8:12 - Bombsite B 11:31 - Bombsite A 14:23 - Middle 15:55 - Rules of contest 16:17 - Concluding ratings 18:14 - Grenades 19:17 - Onto next map but SUDDENLY 19:45 - Results of contest 20:08 - My thoughts 21:28 - Adjustments to the map 22:10 - End Watch the twitch itself here, my map starts at 54:50 http://www.twitch.tv/playcevo/b/537228362 Check it out on the workshop HERE! http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=269598277 de_sparity is currently in the top 12 maps for CS:GO on the Steam Workshop and I believe is the best map that I have made. It took me 3 months to make, though admittedly about 80% of that was in the last week or so :P It was developed for the Gamebanana / Cevo competition but didn't reach the final 10. Check out my channels: ● 3kliksphilip: https://www.youtube.com/3kliksphilip ● 2kliksphilip: https://www.youtube.com/2kliksphilip ● kliksphilip: https://www.youtube.com/kliksphilip Other information you might like: ● Website: http://3kliksphilip.com ● Twitter: https://twitter.com/3kliksphilip ● PC Specs: Intel 3770K, 16 GB RAM, Geforce 670 2 GB.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1412)
Chi-Bowl (5 days ago)
I really hope that they have actual judges now instead of these asshats who don't know anything about what they're talking about. Paper lanterns are popular across Europe and Asia, the Alps are not Slavic (mostly), props and textures are reused by all of the official maps, no draw is actually used more frequently on official maps, counting in your head is always inconsistent, and it's impossible to judge gameplay without playing the game. What they did is the equivalent of judging a book by its cover, you can get a vague idea of the surface but you have to read it to know if it's good. I hope these guys were fired. And, to think that this is how they've been doing it for years up to this point is ridiculous. Valve pls fix.
hazer279 (7 days ago)
At 12:59 he literally says "Slavic, In the Alps", like how dumb do you have to be?
MekTheMLGPro (18 days ago)
You don't judge a map on low quality settings. Hell... you don't PLAY CS:GO on low quality settings. It's not like it takes a lot of power...
Prog47 (20 days ago)
These guys look like they knew someone in the industry and thought 'it would be cool to make a living rating video game maps'. I have 60 hours in CS : GO and I can rate this map in a better way
Torin Jones (21 days ago)
You think you'd just stick 10 bots on let them run around and judge it that way as well. And bots doesn't come down to skill since they're all the same difficulty.
Torin Jones (21 days ago)
Lmao ye olde wood buildings near industrial factories this judge has never been to Europe has he haha
Jason (23 days ago)
18:03 "Dont rip everything..." I was so pissed when he said that
tihamir299 (1 month ago)
7:29 This sort of thing does actually exist in Eastern Europe.
SA (1 month ago)
Are they retarded
Henry Carlsson (1 month ago)
That platform they said didn't have any support, i'm sorry 3kliksphilip, but they are right here. When new players are going to play this map, they will so easily see the platform as a nice spot for sniping and so on, so they will try to get up, fail, and then be killed from behind. Its a nice graphical detail to the map, but people will misstake it for a spot you can actually go.
DemonApe TV (1 month ago)
WHAT... great judging criteria! How! WHAT! HUH! NO BRAINS! have they ever heard of Switzerland? The Alps? Secondly have they ever played the Valve Maps? and HOW DO THEY NOT 5v5 for criteria?
Dany Entertainment (1 month ago)
Guess what? This map was in the hydra operarion after your shitty reviews so yeah
Igneous Rock (1 month ago)
philip is 100% correct about this shit. all the house and industrial complex and the mountains make sense. the reviewer is a moron. 'a nordic house with crosses' goes on to call it a 'seventeenth century house'. moron with no sense of history.
Jiamao (1 month ago)
Asian laterns on a Nordic Map ? They acting like there are no other mountains on earth. This could be tibet or something and not just nordic. and btw the alps are not located in nordic region more in central europe.
Arbiter91 (1 month ago)
I really want to know how you can review anything without experiencing it Who does that? Lazy.
AluminumToast (1 month ago)
This triggers me
The Pink Pancakes (1 month ago)
Those people were way to picky.
Kai's Wurmcoil (1 month ago)
5:21 HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOGH
Shaneeu. Tf (1 month ago)
This pisses me off cause I myself is a map designer and I think that ur map is amazing but really its just a game physics don't need to be in it.
SiMangoPie (2 months ago)
shitty reviewer
Jack Donohue (2 months ago)
Interesting fact about crosses on building is that if a building has a cross or crosses, it is in almost every case, a church.
BewegteBilderrahmen (2 months ago)
it has mountains so it must be the alps, it looks "cheap and historic" with industry around so it must be slavic... I rate this guy's geography knowledge a 2/10, he gets pity points for knowing that there is such a thing as slavic culture but I'm generous here. Honestly the only issue I'd see with the style, though you did not intend one, was the chinese script on the lanterns, otherwise it looks like a scandinavian town modeled to fit both style (mountains, industry in mountains, and stave churches) and gameplay very well. It's very simple looking but has a lot of depth once you get to know the smaller details. And I don't even play CS.
Dale Sparrow (2 months ago)
I love this map Philip, please keep trying. I uninstalled CS:GO for the lack of accepted maps. I used to play for relaxing, and the repetitive map play has resulted in the only joy I get from being gambling on a win. I want it to be like Gmod where you can literally spend weeks just exploring servers like its some sort of travelers holiday.
NeuesTestament (2 months ago)
It is painful to hear Americans talking about European culture. I am yet to find the mysterious all Slavs in Scandinavia.
[GD] Quinaboi (2 months ago)
that map is the best one ive ever seen this guy cant appreciate good map art. and they do go on about the floating deck thingy. if I could rate this, I would give 10 for everything
poser sh!t (2 months ago)
c0tton is a faggot cuck he should neck himself
cassumonsta _ (2 months ago)
That guy sucks
Orion (2 months ago)
I mean, I like the map but I have to agree with their statements on the catwalk at around 10:25 . But the map is great.
Beniu (2 months ago)
psst, the streets on dd2 also make no sense ;)
I Always Asked For This (3 months ago)
He could have hired or used a full team of players to test it out. A real reviewer would judge the map from a non developer perspective and point out what they think looks good or bad, not nitpick about models being used from other maps. Also, you have to get information out of a developer before you cry about their crap; "Do they use custom models or props?"... "Did they publish this map in a better version on sites such as game banana other than the steam workshop? And if so should I review that version?"
Cata (3 months ago)
honestly I would never play that map in csgo comp. Looks like a ton of clutter around.
nomad8723 (3 months ago)
3klicks salt mine open for business
sonosfree 1 (3 months ago)
There is quite a lot of cristoan symbols in northem countries
Henry Ambrose (3 months ago)
So the map needed playtesting after you spent a month playtesting and they spent a few minutes imagining what it might be like to play on? These reviewers insult me, and I'm not even the one who put everything into this map.
this was published back in 2014, is the server still up?
ThatsGregBuddy (3 months ago)
Mid... not balanced.
LeafSalt (3 months ago)
You've inspired me to make maps, Sadly my map was trashed on gamebanana
Kris (3 months ago)
Whilst I do think that the guys who reviewed the map could have used better ways of doing things. They brought about some good points. I feel that there was some criticism that you just shrugged off due to having a differing opinion. These guys do have unorthodox ways of looking at things, although they have probably done this for a long time, and for the most part, know what they are talking about. The only problem I saw through this whole video is them not doing enough research, although the points they made were still valid, and they work on a time limit. As there are tons maps to be looked over. This does not excuse laziness, but it does excuse some of their faults, as they do not have an unlimited time to look at these things. Anyways, personally loved the map, one of my favorites. -UnPopular Opinion
Dubl33 (3 months ago)
CEVO review sucks.
HeXagoN (3 months ago)
:(
Vinyl (3 months ago)
"the catwalk has no supports" IT'S LIKE THEY NEVER GO OUTSIDE JESUS CHRIST (side note, love your videos, you've inspired me to make some maps)
calle Åström (3 months ago)
In sweden we acctually have such a old Nordic building in a modern district :P
Jamie Walkowicz (3 months ago)
The reviewer has obviously never been outside of his country before lol.
Fidelity (3 months ago)
I think a lot of your points do make sense but I think you're somewhat defending your creation wayyyyyyyyy too hard man.
Bob Tillman (3 months ago)
17:47 onwards for absolute FACEPALM
Deurlii (3 months ago)
Cotton seems to be a fat asian retard
Puppu Jinks (4 months ago)
*He didn't even read the description.*
Melly (4 months ago)
hold on Philip. now wtf is that viewnodel lmao. nice nap btw
Caspian Wiley (4 months ago)
I give your map a 10 in all categories! :)
Zachary Livingstone (4 months ago)
“Check this out I’m gunna kill myself
ThatsGregBuddy (4 months ago)
"Map started so promising"
ELLIES (4 months ago)
It's called detail it doesn't mater if you can't get up there Jese22:57
ELLIES (4 months ago)
I mean 10:15
Apathy (4 months ago)
Chinese lanterns.... ugh... LITERALLY unplayable
Der Kaiser (4 months ago)
"Give it some playtesting" literally didn't playtest it
BigaSs PuMp (4 months ago)
Not gonna lie the map is really good
Mr beans baked (4 months ago)
i kinda agree tho, old fashioned nordic esque buildings next to factories is kinda jarring
Savage Sadist (4 months ago)
Every few months I rewatch this little series of videos to remind me of how to make a good map. And every few months this review pisses me off. He failed to read the description, nitpicked multiple details that literally didn't matter in any capacity, and even had the balls to say that certain visuals needed to be better while playing on potato graphics settings. Also "Alright lets look at the gameplay" is when I thought him and the other dude would play together or spawn bots and play but they didn't even do that much.
Darkitz (4 months ago)
Hmmm i agree with the metal thigny at b tho. Completly for a detail its way to low and too big. Also with that big thing on it, it feels like it should collaps. However they were ranting about it wayyy to long.
RENDOGIFICATION (4 months ago)
Was this map added in as an operation? I remember playing this game at some point.
Huevote _ (4 months ago)
They sound like fucking assholes
Awayforthewin (4 months ago)
yes because valve would care that Nordic buildings have fucking crosses on there roofs
Awayforthewin (4 months ago)
how about actually playing the map retards
Csongor Borbély (4 months ago)
They didn't even read the description! Come on!
Evil Boy (4 months ago)
They are idiot's, goddamn idiot's they dont even know what they are doing.
Matt (4 months ago)
It’s satisfying to watch you tear down some of these reviewers, especially after binging this series and watching how much work you’ve put into it
Trainonwater 1 (5 months ago)
How do we get this map in matchmaking
Dover (5 months ago)
7:30 Does this fucking guy expect industrialization to happen overnight?
WilliamL (5 months ago)
10/10
OfficialmONEy (5 months ago)
I am not a mapper, but have tried to map a couple of time and couldn't really get into it. I did do some game development though. I 3d modeled props and characters. I have a pretty decent knowledge of what goes into making a game and watching this is very hard. I can easily see the countless hours you put into this map for this dude to crap all over it for visual details. Did this dude forget that he is playing CSGO. If the map plays good that's all that matters.
Chilled Beverage (6 months ago)
fuck gamebanana
vulduv (6 months ago)
i have rewatched this somany times just to laugh at cotton. i honestly think mapping competitions should have actual MAPPERS as the judges.
Zero (6 months ago)
Dude why are you sending a map to such asholes
Mister Meister (6 months ago)
How many fucking times does he say "cool"?
Orange Orange (6 months ago)
This reviewing is complete shit
Dcseal (6 months ago)
That was really shittily done. It's shocking to see how many flaws they really had in their judging session and how they nitpicked on superficial aesthetic details.
Ze Voidah (7 months ago)
Asians.
Andrew Johnson (7 months ago)
Should've submitted a painting at least then they could say it looked good
Ganjie Aalekara (7 months ago)
This is like Russian fable "Осёл и соловей"
Spartan Studios (7 months ago)
"This unplayable part of the map needs to be textured," Because pros don't need frames
iloveteaalot (7 months ago)
Why would anyone compare this map to the alps, it is clearly an unintentional recreation of Kiruna!
Rexuro (7 months ago)
old negev sound so glorious ;_;
spiner737 (7 months ago)
I loved the map. It has issues but it can be ignored and it's just visual.
mihkel maltsev (8 months ago)
Abit salt and abit truth
Mark Johnson (8 months ago)
Are they just critics or actual mappers as well? Cause if they know nothing about mapping - then they can simply SHUT THE FUCK UP and appreciate that people do this. its like someone criticizing a song when they are not an actual fuckin music producers - WHO GIVES A FUCK... this is why pure critiques are imbeciles who only are paid to say their opinions without zero knowledge about what it actually takes and how much work goes into stuff ( real fuckin professional ) am i right? Fuckin jokes... Playing a map does not mean you know how its made x D just shrug it off man, you did excellent job!
PS:GO (8 months ago)
This makes me so fucking mad
Holton Stark (8 months ago)
CEVO guy thinks Scandinavia has absolutely no churches anywhere
Crusty Nipples (9 months ago)
"A little play testing too" .... m8
Buzz - CS:GO (9 months ago)
When are you making your next map?
Cheese It (9 months ago)
If it has snow and it's in Eastern Europe that doesn't mean its based on skyrim.
B21Boss00B lol (9 months ago)
I think that map is cool bro I can play that and also he's a shity reviewer. LMAO
Engireer (9 months ago)
Says the guy from the rice fields.
Hagen Abicht (9 months ago)
The Rating method was HORRIBLE!
c_g3 (9 months ago)
It fucking hurts to watch.
Robert Pacella (9 months ago)
This guy doesn't know how this game works
bean (10 months ago)
There seems to be a lack of objectivity for both judges
bean (10 months ago)
Honestly the map somewhat reminds me of Detroit, industry right next to regular city life
Basilisk (10 months ago)
what a fucking idiot.
iobam 993 (10 months ago)
wow these reviewers are critisizeing you instead of reviewing
Thats Legit (10 months ago)
I legitimately laugh my ass off on 15:57, ever heard of the ghetto map called _SHIPPED_, of course the map would meet valves standards with being low frame-rate and no call-outs on top of the radar just telling where the hell you are on the damn shitty map.
Lefton Production's (10 months ago)
For me being a map artist who can barley make a good displacement this map is amazing

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.